Nobel Prize Recipients at UW-Madison

The University of Wisconsin-Madison is connected to 18 Nobel Prizes. Four in particular have contributed greatly to the field of biotechnology. To learn more, check out the UW-Madison Libraries page that gives a brief history behind the research.

Below is a plaque made in 1977 commemorating three of the four Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine awarded to researchers for work done at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Joshua Lederburg
Professor of Medical Genetics, 1948-1959
Awarded Nobel Prize in 1958 for his discoveries concerning genetic recombination and the organization of the genetic material of bacteria.
Click here for the Nobel Prize page on Joshua Lederburg

Har Gobind Khorana

Professor of Biochemistry, 1960-1970
Awarded Nobel Prize in 1968 for work in elucidating the genetic code by synthesizing gene fragments.
Click here for the Nobel Prize page on Har Gobind Khorana

Howard M. Temin
Professor of Oncology, 1960-1994
Awarded Nobel Prize in 1975 for discoveries concerning the interrelation between tumor virus and cellular germ plasmid.
Click here for the Nobel Prize page on Howard M. Temin

Oliver Smithies
Professor of Genetics and Medical Genetics, 1960-1988
UW-Madison’s most recent recipient in Physiology or Medicine, Oliver Smithies was awarded  the Nobel Prize in 2007 for discoveries of principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by the use of embryonic stem cells. Although Professor Smithies won the Nobel while at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, his key discoveries in knock-out mice were made while he was at UW-Madison.
Click here for the Nobel Prize page on Oliver Smithies.
Reverse Side of the Nobel Prize

Josh Lederburg

Har Gobind Khorana

Howard M. Temin